06
Feb
08

New Camera?

I am planning to buy a new camera. I’ve done a bit of research and I am learning towards Sony DSC-H3, one of their compact long zoom variant, boasting a 10x zoom and 8.01 megapixels. I’ve read both site reviews and user reviews, they all seem to like it a lot. Of course, every camera has flaws and I am well aware of the H3’s.

What I like about the H3 though, aside from its small size for a long zoom and its price is the “enthusiast” feel of it. It can pass up as a point and shoot, but also provides some manual controls. It has a pop-up flash and a beautiful lens. I am just a casual photographer, but I would like to pursue it as an more serious hobby. I am not up for the SLRs, they are too expensive. Also, I already have several Sony devices, thus I am not turned off by the use of Sony’s proprietary memory sticks.

I am planning to buy it at Yodobashi camera or Bic Camera. They have a nice system where you can get a discount on your next purchase. The H3 is priced at ¥33,100, that’s about P13,000~P14,000. With their discount system, I get a discount of ¥3,310 on my next purchase. So, let’s say I buy the extra battery which costs ¥5,280, but since I have a discount, I’ll get the battery for just ¥1970!

If you guys have any better models in mind, please do share 😀 If not, then help me decide between the black or silver H3. Thanks in advance.

5 Responses to “New Camera?”


  1. February 6, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    🙂 you seem determined on getting the H3, have you read dpreview’s say on it? it has the most comprehensive description and user reviews around.

    i’d go for the black, 😛

  2. February 6, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Ahhh… thanks for the link. I just read and heeded imaging-resource’s recommendation. I’ll take a look at dpreview! There’s a replacement model for it, DSC-H10, coming out on April 2008. I wonder if I should wait for it :-/

  3. February 7, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    hmmm but you wont get it cheaply here as you would in japan. unless youre planning to go back in april 😛

  4. February 9, 2008 at 5:45 am

    Woooh…new cam. I suggest you stick with the H3 if you want to have that DSLR feel but don’t want to go the DSLR route just yet. It also has one of the best features at its price range since there really isn’t much of a difference when it comes to prints when you compare these to its higher models like the H9 and H7. 😀

    I for one am not a fan of canon’s P&S cameras so canon is out of the picture for me. heheheh.

  5. February 9, 2008 at 11:08 am

    @wastefulplaces HAHAHA you’re right. I am planning to make the purchase today 😀

    @BeLe Thanks for the encouraging nudge BeLe. My mind has settled for the H3 already. However, I think I’d like to look at the other models of its class like the Canon Powershot S5 IS and Panasonic Lumix FZ18. Though, I am already pretty sold with Sony. Planning to make the big purchase today, so I can still take snaps of the rest of my stay here. Planning to go to Kobe, a beautiful port city here in Japan, or so the say. Hoping to spend some quality time with my new baby by then hahaha.


Leave a Reply

