23
Jan
08

Osaka Day 1 – Osaka, Here I Come!

After more than two years working at a Japanese company, I have been, by some stroke of divine intervention, finally in Japan! I have decided to log this momentous event in my life by blogging my day-to-day misadventures here! I hope I can sustain writing about my sojourn in Osaka 😀

Note: I did not bring a camera. Though I brought my SE K800i with me, but I forgot my data cable. Call me stupid, but I will surely be slow in uploading pictures.

01/16

My first day in Japan was cold… very cold… and stressful. We were greeted with unfriendly, cold, and harsh winds and for someone from the tropics, that’s not a very good combination. Not to mention, I was lugging around 30 kilos worth of baggage and stuff across the airport, the labyrinth they call the subway, and the streets of Nanba.

God knows I only managed to get by due to brute strength and a good dose of adrenaline. My arms were sore and freezing as we tried to find our weekly mansion. Sounds grand, doesn’t it? A grandiose mansion? Ha—far from it! I would call it a mini-apartment furnished with the urban bare necessities. It was tinier than what I envisioned it to be, based on the pictures sprawled in their website.

It was 9:00PM and after all that trekking, our stomachs were growling. Ah… where shall I take my first meal in Japan? What restaurant would christen me to the world of Japanese cuisine?

A guess, anyone?

You got it! Where else, but McDonald’s?

Thank you, American food franchise! Well… I would have wanted to eat Japanese food, but McDonald’s was just as well—a familiar taste in a foreign place.

After a quick dinner, we made a short stop at the kombini (convenience store) to grab a few snacks and a bottler of water. Then, we went back to the weekly mansion and I started to get acquainted to my new home. I quickly adapted to this new living space and started to unpack my things and placed them in their rightful spots in my mini bachelorette pad.

And that was day one! Good night, Japan!

Go on over to my multiply site for some pictures!

9 Responses to “Osaka Day 1 – Osaka, Here I Come!”


  1. January 23, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    hahahah. lol @ eating McDonalds. What a way to spend your first meal in Japan. XD

    Maybe your mates have a cam you can borrow? Why do you call it a weekly mansion btw? 😀

  2. January 24, 2008 at 12:13 am

    The term mansion here in Japan doesn’t refer to the big billionaire cribs like we imagine it to be. To the Japanese, mansion is just the same as an apartment. Not exactly sure why it is called a weekly mansion, but with the facilities included in the weekly mansion, it might mean you can survive for a week or longer there 😀

    I provided a link to the website to where I’m staying now in the post.

  3. 3 Hinode
    January 24, 2008 at 9:07 am

    Sounds fun lol .. :p ..

  4. 4 aYa_sToRm
    January 24, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    hwoo00ooowww!!! look at the fries! yum2x! XD

  5. January 24, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    @aYa_sToRm Those fries are good. Tag-as pa jud na sila. Not like the ones we have back home nga gagmay dayun putol-putol.

  6. January 24, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    I looked at your so called weekly mansion. It’s kinda small but looks cozy enough…and it’s clean. I wonder if it stays that way when you’re done with it. hahahah XD

  7. January 24, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    taba..nice place 😀

  8. January 25, 2008 at 9:03 am

    @BeLe It is cozy, just enough for one person to live relatively comfortable. It WAS clean. Now though, not quite as much. We do have a vacuum cleaner, sponges, and various cleaning agents to help with the upkeep 🙂 It’s not dusty here and I’m barely at home, so I can get by around 1 week without doing major cleaning 😀

    I do my own laundry too lol

  9. 9 Kim
    January 26, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    o_O neat mansion! ❤ there’s even a bathtub! whoo
    btw, first meal @ mcdonald’s! LOL XDD the “(\/)” post standing outside was probably too big and bright that they couldn’t take their eyes off it xd


Leave a Reply

