08
Mar
07

New Project Group Assignment

I just got assimilated to a new project group to proxy one of their members because she got pulled out to help in another project. Anyway, I got her module and I have to handle all her tasks from now on.

I already have deliverables due on Monday. I think I made good progress with my tasks today. I hope I get to finish them in time for my deadlines.

(Wow, this entry came out very positive sounding despite the unfavorable situation that I am in.)

Random thought: Is there a scientific explanation as to why (most?) software engineers (my friends and myself included) are more productive during the evenings? Even as a student, I found that I was able to code more effectively during nighttime.

6 Responses to “New Project Group Assignment”


  1. March 9, 2007 at 8:49 am

    It’s just a mindset that you’re more productive on the evenings.

    Now get back to work!

    :p

  2. March 9, 2007 at 10:42 am

    I’d have to agree with absolute0. It’s probably just a mindset. Other people I know code effectively under different conditions (less distractions, more distractions, early in the morning, after/during eating and etc). šŸ˜€

  3. 3 Helen
    March 9, 2007 at 12:50 pm

    that’s nice šŸ™‚ i’M happy for you.. just stay being productive =) i hope you pass all your deadlines by Monday.

  4. 4 dru
    March 13, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    The silence, maybe..? šŸ˜› Or the fact that you can do anything you want at night because everyone else is sleeping (and not watching)

    hehehe šŸ˜›

  5. March 27, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    actually, i myself am also more productive in the evening. i don’t think it’s just a mindset – my mind is considerably clearer in the evening, less distracted by colleagues messaging and emailing me, and more focused on single tasks (as opposed to the multitude of tasks you have to consider in a normal day).
    i think this is because, when working evenings, i’m working with a purpose, as opposed to just coming to work during the day ‘coz it’s mandatory.
    i think.

  6. March 28, 2007 at 12:24 am

    There really are people who are night owls and there those who are early birds. So, yeah I think it goes beyond being just a mindset, or at least that’s what I read in a few articles in the internet. There seems to be less inhibitions during nighttime which makes you less tense. This makes for a more relaxed and productive environment IMO.


Leave a Reply

